If I don't DO something my LPN License I won't renew in February - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 08-29-2013, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oye this is depressing for me. I graduated May 2009. Sat for the NCLEX in August. Gave birth to my daughter in October. Started looking for jobs February. Worked Flu clinic in the Fall. Had 3rd child in May. Worked Flu clinics again. Started applying again... Worked 2012 flu clinics ... Still applying (basically the same three corporations for senior care, 1 prison and 2 state jobs). Now we're due with our 4th, I didn't make the cut for a very scaled back flu clinic so we'll have to rework Christmas and winter clothes budget. I don't want to waste $ on CEUs, but that might help pad the resume. I feel unhirable not having practical experience in so long. I've thought about begging Drs offices to let me come in as an unpaid intern to gain some experience. I just can't afford the gas to get the kids to my mom's then to work without a paycheck : / The thought never crossed my mind that I would graduate and not be able to find work. I also have a bachelor's in both wildlife conservation and entomology but I am really only looking to work evenings so we can loosen the belt a little. All that work so DH can remind me we don't NEED me to bring in money. GAH thanks for listening : )

><> Mom to superhero.gif (6) hearts.gif (4) energy.gif (2) and baby.gif (born March!)
#2 of 9 Old 08-29-2013, 12:30 PM

What do you need to do to renew your license?

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#3 of 9 Old 08-29-2013, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter

I need hours and CEUs, but it's been 4 years since I've done anything hands on besides vaccinations

><> Mom to superhero.gif (6) hearts.gif (4) energy.gif (2) and baby.gif (born March!)
#4 of 9 Old 09-07-2013, 07:01 AM