Are we crazy? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 09-05-2013, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So DH and I have been tossing the TTC idea around for a while, but honestly, we're a little nervous. We have a 15 month old DD who is very active and keeps us VERY busy :-) We both work full-time outside of the home (I'm a special education teacher with a demanding schedule and DH works in the cell phone industry with shift hours...I am also in school right now but will be finished in July). We are blessed that my in-laws are able to babysit DD while we work so we don't have any child care costs. We would LOVE to for DD to have a sibling close in age mainly because we did not. I am an only child and DH's only brother is 8 years older than him so they're not really close. As we grow older, we are realizing the importance of sibling relationships and and how vital they are. I honestly feel like the best gift I can give my children is each other.

But..... How on earth will we manage with 2 (nearly) under 2?? If we conceived this month DD would be 25 months old. Right now we have things worked out pretty well, as DH takes care of the morning routine (waking her up, eating breakfast, getting dressed, hair combed, drop off at in-laws...) and I do the evening routine (pick-up from in-laws, dinner for DD, afternoon activities, bath, bed). We both do laundry, cook and housework... So that one person isn't tired out. Of course we practice gentle and attachment parenting so DD is still nursing, bed shares and we pretty much follow her leads with guidance, she has 100% of our attention and she is accustomed to this.