Should I get my RN to BSN?? Don't really want to, but being "strongly encouraged" to. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 10-06-2013, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm nearly 40. My RN degree was a second degree after being a SAHM for nearly 10 years, and having a 4-year degree and career before that. I slogged my way through nursing school and it was the hardest thing I've ever done. Trying to balance family and school. But I did it!! And I've been working as an RN for 2+ years as a bedside nurse in a peds hospital. I can't see myself every doing anything bigger than bedside nursing. No management or anything else. I am also working part-time which works well for my family.

So . . . the hospital is strongly encouraging the RN's to go back to school and get a BSN. They are paying for part of it with tuition reimbursement. There are on-line programs available so it would work on my schedule. The trend is now to get your BSN and although they won't fire me for not getting it, I may not be hirable elsewhere. Even with experience. 

But I don't want to go back to school. I'm tired. My oldest will be going to college in 6 years if not sooner. I want to be a mom and a normal person, not a student. It's stressful and expensive. The on-line classes are mostly administration type classes, research, and paper-writing. Even if I take one at a time, it's still time away from my family and life.

Do any RN's or related professionals have feedback? I would appreciate it.help.gif

7yo: "Mom,I know which man is on a quarter and which on is on a nickel. They both have ponytails, but one man has a collar and the other man is naked. The naked man was our first president."

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 10-07-2013, 03:32 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)