Academia... taking time off between PhD & post-doc... part-time options, etc. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 10-11-2013, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I had my first child (now 4 years old) in the middle of completing my PhD (in a science field). I finished a little over a year ago, and have been fortunate to continue as a part-time post-doc in the lab where I did my PhD. My son was with babysitters about 18-20 hours a week as I was finishing up, and we have the same arrangement now (regarding my working hours/time away from him). My husband's job is pretty demanding and often not very flexible in terms of going in late/leaving early.

My time in my current lab is ending at the end of 2013, and I need to figure out what I am doing next. The next logical step is probably to a get another post-doc in a different lab. The catch (a good catch :-) is that we are expecting our second baby in January (just after I finish my current post-doc). My thought had been that I would be between jobs/home with the kids until fall or 2014 or, preferably, until the baby is a year old (January 2015).

Because I recognize that I have more time now than I will after she is born, I am trying to see if I can line something up now to start in a year or so. Even when the baby is a year old, I do not relish the thought of needing to put her in full-time childcare. I have never had to do this with my son, much less when he was an infant. I would love something like another part-time post-doc and am also considering other options like teaching part-time at a community college until she is older. Honestly, it would be great if I could just stay at home until she starts school, then dive back in, but I can't imagine that's very plausible. (Please note: I am NOT criticizing those whose kids are in full-time childcare. Just stating my personal preference.)