Any scientists out there? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 01-02-2014, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Just wondering if there are any scientist mamas out there?  I'd love to hear about your experiences as a mother and scientist.  :)  Are you happy with your chosen path and work/life balance?  

I'm currently working on a master's in microbiology while working part time in a public health/genomics lab and am toying with the idea of a PhD.  For the most part, I love my job, but there is also the part of me that dislikes the time commitment it takes to be competitive in the field (as a post-doc/PI).  Anyone been there done that?  

#2 of 22 Old 01-03-2014, 01:29 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'm a medical laboratory scientist (I also have a BA in public health). I love my job too but I'm quitting this summer to become a SAHM and homeschool my kids.

I know how hard it is to go to school with kiddos! How many do you have?

I'm very unhappy with my work life balance right now. I LOVE my job but I'm out of the home too much and my family suffers. I appreciate those mamas that can do both, I simply can't. I feel like I've missed too much of my kids growing up already. I thought going to a normal, 9 to 5 Monday thru Friday would be better, but in many ways it just made things worse.

It's not my intention to bring you down though lol. This has just been my bad experience. I know lots if mamas who do just fine balancing everything out! Best of luck to you smile.gif))
#3 of 22 Old 01-04-2014, 06:08 PM