Publishing using your maiden name? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-01-2014, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)

I legally took my partner's last name before we had the baby, as my partner's name is more meaningful to them and I wanted us all to have the same last name. I'm an art student and looking to start trying to make money on my art- and I have a question about names. My 'maiden' name is short, easy to pronounce, and while it has a few common spelling variations it's not hard to spell. My married name is very long, no one can pronounce it, and very difficult to remember how to spell.  So, I'd really prefer to go by my maiden name professionally just because it's easier to create a brand when people actually know how to spell your name.

I know that people who started out publishing then got married sometimes continue using their maiden name, and I also know that people publish under a pseudonym. My question is- how does that work for copyright and such? Does anyone have advice on how to do this?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2014, 10:24 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I have a hyphenated last name, although not my maiden name, because it is easy to spell and more common then my last last name. Both are my legal names though so I do not worry about copyrights and trademarks. I would speak to a lawyer.

Visit the Holiday Helper thread and join in on the giving and fun! Loving and working with the plants. I have a store! or two!
Old 03-04-2014, 10:31 AM