Mothering Forum banner

Teacher Mama or Nurse Mama?

1K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  lauren 
#1 ·
Do you have experience as either of these?
What are the pluses and minuses of your career choice and your role as mom?

A little about me, I already have a BA in Liberal Studies, but once I started having kids I knew I really wanted to be in labor and delivery. The problem is that now, I have to start from the very beginning! I could also see myself being a teacher. It is what I was preparing to do.

I suppose I would just like to hear some opinions from those who know.

Thanks!

#2 ·
I am not either of these, but I have friends who are. Seems like one drawback of labor and delivery nurse is that newer nurses tend to be put on the night shifts for awhile until they build seniority. This can obviously interfere with nighttime parenting.

Teachers seem to do pretty well because of the whole summers off thing, especially when their kids are older.

#3 ·
I am a registered nurse and midwife. I'm in Australia so things are a bit different but anyway :)

Pros: as much casual work as I want. I choose to work only day shifts, only on my husband's days off and only in ED or maternity
- pays pretty well, especially as a casual
- nice variety. No two days are the same.
- portable. If we had to move, I could get a job virtually anywhere.

Cons
- inflexible hours. I can chose my shifts but, if I am booked for an early, I have to be there at 7am and stay till 3pm. I can't negotiate an 8-4 or 9-5 day to accommodate school drop-off etc (this may be different if you had a community or corporate job)
- can't work from home
- need to do 40hrs/year of professional development even when I'm not working/on mat leave
- difficult to leave in an emergency. Pts have to be handed over to someone else.