Mat leave options influencing decision for more children? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-22-2014, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Mat leave options influencing decision for more children?

Hi there,

First off, I am Canadian where most employed folks get a full year of maternity leave benefits. However, as a midwife in my province I am considered "self-employed" and therefore am not entitled to any and am required to fund my own mat leave. I don't mean to offend any mamas who only get 6-12 weeks as I know is often the case in the US! The demands and "schedule" of my job are so demanding and sometimes draining so that factors in. And my DH has been a SAHD after our two previous children were born (when I was a midwife/on call) which made it easier for me to go back at 4 and 8 months, respectively. Now he works FT, mostly from home with flexible hours (and is happy to participate in child-wrangling when available) but there is some requirement for quiet and travel.

We really want 1-2 more children. Our youngest is 5 so we feel that the time is now. However, all we could swing financially if we were to conceive now is a 5-6 month mat leave. I am by far the primary bread earner and our family would really struggle if I took longer than that. Then our plan would be to hire a live-out nanny a little less than FT (perhaps 25-30 hrs/week) to give DH ample time to work since although my job means I have to be available at the drop of a hat I am often home just watching my pager. I am slightly heartbroken at the thought of someone else looking after my 5-6 mo baby, since it has always been DH when it wasn't me, but I am comforted by the fact that he/she would be at home, I would be home lots of the time, and dh would be available a lot of the time if the s*** was hitting the fan.

So my questions are: