How to stop pumping? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 02-21-2005, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, in a couple more months DS will be one. I hate pumping, and I'm not very good at it. Right now I pump every night after DS goes to bed, and three-four times a day on the three days a week that I work. I'm planning to continue nursing for a long time, but I'd like to start phasing out the pumping after he turns one.

I'm looking for advice on how to do that. Right now DS gets three 4-oz bottles at daycare - morning, lunch and afternoon. Do I try to get him eating more solid foods to replace the EBM? Or just replace EBM with cow or goat milk after he's old enough?

I realize there's got to be a bunch of different methods that work (or don't) depending on the baby. Can you mamas share yours?
#2 of 12 Old 02-21-2005, 03:20 PM

When I stopped pumping, it was over about a month. I was still pumping 2 times a day when Dot was 14 months. That is really when she started eating foods, so it seemed like a good time to stop pumping. I started by pumping for a shorter period of time during the first session until I had eliminated it all together, then did the same with the afternoon session. Dorothy never really took a bottle - she started with a straw or sippy around 6 months, so I just had dcp put dilute juice, water or milk in her cup. She loved the change LOL! She continued to nurse weekends, nights and mornings until she was 2.
#3 of 12 Old 02-21-2005, 04:58 PM

I can't really give you any tips on how to get your DC off ebm, as I stopped pumping because mine just stopped taking it, no matter how it was offered.