Nurses, Student Nurses, Pre-req takers - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know we've had threads in different places on the board. I thought it would be nice to have a lil thread of our own.
#2 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 03:32 PM

I'm a nurse. An RN. I've been working in the NICU for the last 6 1/2 years and love it
#3 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 03:37 PM

I am a nurse. I work week-end nights in SICU. That way I can be a stay at home mom all week. Thanks for making a thread!

Becky, married to DH, Vern , for 11 years. Mom to DS, Z (1/01), DD, A (5/02), Hershey (11 yo Shih-tzu) and May 2010 TTC #4 on my homepage!
#4 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 03:51 PM

My usual schedule is weekend days. DH is a SAHD and with my shedule I am practically a SAHM! We spend loads of time together. Being a nurse has such benefits!

Righ now I just work 4 hour shifts, almost every day. I have a two month old so I don't want to hurt our nursing relationship. Especially since I struggle with supply after I had a breast reduction.
#5 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter

Cool! Any non-vaxing nurse mamas here?

I'm just taking my pre-reqs and trying to decide whether to start the ADN program in the fall of '06 when my baby will only be 7 months old (I'd take night classes) OR start the BSN program in the fall of '07 when the baby will be nearly two and can start in daycare during the day. So far it looks like the BSN has more plusses, but I'm so tempted. I dunno what to do, maybe you ladies can give me some insight into what you think would work better. Regardless, I'll still need to do the BSN program because my 'final goal' is to be an FNP.

That's the fabulous thing about nursing though, soooo many options.
#6 of 1533 Old 09-25-2005, 04:42 PM

Hi!! I'm a second year BScN student and loving every minute of it (okay, maybe not the endless papers).