Daycare tour/interview questions... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-02-2006, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi mamas!

My dd is 6 months old now, and I'm starting to look at daycare options for when my dh starts grad school and I go back to work this fall (she'll be 10-11 months).

I'm going to tour the student daycare on campus next week (which offers awesome flexibility- we're trying to juggle to minimize the amount of time that we need in daycare so that we can cover most times ourselves). Can you direct me towards resources for questions I should ask, things I should look for, etc??

I'm totally new at this and rather intimidated right now

TIA

"Guess what? It's a magical world. And when I sing, my songs are in it."
Madly in love with my 7 and 4 year old daughters

#2 of 8 Old 05-03-2006, 01:57 PM

Oh how I remember the task of finding daycare!! I started when I was about 6 months pregnant and must have called a zillion places and visited a ton of them!

http://www.mamashealth.com/child/daycare.asp
This site has some general stuff to check for. There are lots of resources out there for finding a daycare. Your state Health & Human Services Department may have resources for licensed daycares (check their website) if the student daycare doesn't work out. I would guess that the student daycare isn't as sophisticated and progressive as others and may not be a "learning type" environment (but I could be wrong). And that may not be a key thing for you either. I know for me it was important that the daycare was encouraging her development and learning as she got older. My dd's center actually does assessments and has parent/teacher meetings once a year. And she attends a non-profit center that is funded with private donations, United Way grants, and other sources of funding.