how do you find/pick daycare? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 03-12-2003, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,

This is my first time posting on this board. Our baby is due in 6 weeks, and luckily I will be on leave until next September. So far we've interviewed at one at home daycare center and it was a nice place that we'd comfortable leaving baby at when I have to go back to work. But it was a hard interview because we really didn't know what sort of stuff to ask - we've never done this before!
We're not sure if we should just take the spot because we know it would work (they are very AP, artistic, no tv, no junk food, etc) or if we should really look around more.

But then the questions is, where do you even look? We're not too keen on the big daycare centers, but finding any at-home daycare, let alone one that fits our ideals.....I don't even know where to start. Do you guys have any ideas? How did you find good daycare? What questions did you ask?

Thanks!
becca
#2 of 9 Old 03-12-2003, 05:13 PM

It sounds as if you have found a good one. I have been trying to find a AP type in home setting for my son, but alas, I have not been able to find any so far and have settled for what I felt the best fit for us (friend of a friend in home family care).

I like to know that I can call at any time during the day to check on my son and not feel like I'm interupting (or I actually call when the children are sleeping). You should feel very comfortable asking any question to a day care provider, afterall this is your child and he/she will be spending a great deal of time with them.

I guess I would also make sure (if your going to bf) that they are comfortable with and know how to handle EBM.

my 2 cents.. Hope it was helpful.

Best wishes to you.
#3 of 9 Old 03-12-2003, 05:15 PM