Introducing bottle help - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 06-25-2006, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I can't do a good search of this forum right now b/c of the server problems, and I know these issues are probably in billions of threads on here, but please excuse the repetition!!!

I will be going back to work sometime in August (I'm actually a grad student, and so is DH). DH will be watching her while I work, as we can't afford any childcare. So far, I've pumped 4 bottles of 2-3 oz each, and a few 1 oz bags to supplement, but that's it (and all are frozen)! I can't imagine having DH give my little girl a bottle already (she's 6 weeks Tuesday), but from what I've read, I should have already done this. It's making me a bit sad to finally do this.

My questions are: Am I screwed b/c I haven't done this earlier (even though I still have 6+ more weeks before going back to work)???? And, how should we start? Do I pump tomorrow in the a.m. after she eats, then leave the bottle in the fridge, then the next day, give DH the bottle, and go pump while he feeds her?

Any other tips for getting used to this schedule? Do I have to do this every morning, or can I get away with maybe 2-3 times/wk (which is how often DH will watch her during most of the next year)?

Amy, mama to "Pumpkin" (DD1, 5/16/06) and "Squashy" (DD2, 7/10/09)
"Real knowledge is to know the extent of one's ignorance"- Confucius
#2 of 5 Old 06-26-2006, 08:45 AM

We didn't start Luke on a bottle until about 8 weeks (2 weeks before I had to head back to work). It took him awhile to get used to the bottle, but I think it was a matter of finding a bottle that worked for him. (Playtex Nursers are what ended up working for us.)