Balancing Corporate work with NFL? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 09-08-2006, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a grad student in the life sciences who has decided to make a great leap (for my field) and go into industry consulting. I have given this a lot of thought, and although there are definite negatives, my main feeling is that if I have to work (and I do WANT to work, as I am not a very good SAHM), then I should do something I enjoy and be paid well for it. Consulting sounds like a very challenging and rewarding field to me. I also like the idea of travel, and truthfully, it would be nice to have nice clothes and shoes, and be able to afford to get my hair colored or nails done.

So, since I'm still in grad school and just starting my job hunt, I still have some soul searching time. What I want to know are the ways that you balance having a career in a corporate environment that places strong emphasis on appearance and obviously, money, with NFL? Do you feel like an outcast? Have you compromised some of your values?

I have been talking with a lot of people, and some people I know don't think I will enjoy this career. I think some of that comes from outdated information (when ds was younger, I thought I wanted to be a SAHM. Now that he is older, I realize that I need people in his life that can give him the stimulation and education he wants and needs. And that person is not me.) and part comes from the fact that I am pretty much a hippie. But I think there is an inner office manager wanting to get out. I love suits and nice shoes (when they are comfortable!), I like the office environment, I like being pressured to meet a deadline, etc.

Advice? TIA!

I'm off to a career fair! Wish me luck!
#2 of 7 Old 09-08-2006, 03:04 PM