Where to buy interview clothes? What to wear? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 11-10-2006, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Anybody have any recommendations for where to buy interview clothes? What to wear?

Probably sounds strange but my background is in high tech and so I've been in a casual dress work environment for the last 15 years or so. I was at my last job for 8 years. I've been a SAHM for the last 2 years but now I'm going back and will be starting to interview soon. I have NOTHING to wear! It's all formal evening wear and jeans in my closet.

I don't want to overdress but I'll be applying for Project Management positions which are both in High Tech and other areas. For the HT interviews I figure I'll just wear slacks and a nice shirt and shoes but what about for a more traditional type company?

I'm in the SF Bay area so I have access to the big dept. stores like Nordstroms, Macy's, etc as well as lots of boutique-y type stores.

Any suggestions?
#2 of 13 Old 11-10-2006, 06:20 PM

My opinion is that you cannot go wrong with a classic suit for interviews. Nordstroms, or any dept store would be fine. Ann Taylor, or Ann Taylor Loft can be good too.

My agency is business casual, but we always expect people to come to interviews in suits.

And if a suit is a bit overdressed, that doesn't bother me. For interviews, I would err on the side of being overdressed than too casual. Also, if you're interviewing for positions in which you'd have client exposure or in some other way represent the company externally, it's good to show that you can get dressed up.

If you still have contacts/friends who are at the kind of companies you're aiming for, they might have the best answers for your specific situation, though.

GL!!!
#3 of 13 Old 11-10-2006, 06:43 PM