Mothering Forum banner

Is anyone here an undergrad academic advisor/academic counselor?

646 views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Yooper 
#1 ·
I'm thinking about applying for an academic advising job. I have no experience as one, but do have a BSW and my experience is mostly in working with children and adolescents. I'm interested in this job because I'd be working on campus, and it's a job I think I'd be good at and really enjoy (ok, that's the short, simple version, lol).

I guess I'm wondering--what is the job like? What does your job entail? Do you enjoy it? Is it at all flexible/family friendly (I realize this will depend on where the job is, etc)?

#2 ·
Well, I'm not one, but I can tell you what qualities I've observed in my colleague.

She handles (with some assistance, but not enough) general academic advising for roughly 350 undergraduates. She gets to know them, cares about how they're doing. We go through spates of having kids with a lot of personal/behavioral/mental health problems: she's on the front line of that. She has masses of paperwork to do, both with admissions and with graduates. She is empathetic, stern when necessary, and keeps a sense of humor pretty much at all times. I'm pretty sure she wouldn't give up the job...

In our particular case, the kids enter knowing their major, so it's not a question of helping anyone decide what the course of study will be. Students also have faculty advisors, who handle the requirements for the major.

#4 ·
mamaley,

It so funny, I am considering the same thing. I have a degree in psychology and school counseling and have been working in early childhood but am quickly getting burned out and thinking of a career change. I like the idea of working with a college population.

Subbing to this thread to find out more. Let us know how it works out for you

Melissa

#5 ·