Help me build my teaching wardrobe! - Mothering Forums
Working and Student Parents > Help me build my teaching wardrobe!
Petersmamma's Avatar Petersmamma 01:37 PM 07-16-2007
Ok, mamas! I'm a grad student now (read: casual clothes) in a HOT city (read: flip flops). I'm going to start teaching high school in a year and I want to start building my wardrobe now because I'm poor and this way I'm not buying a bunch of stuff next August.

So, here's the deal: since it is so hot here so much of the year, clothing like capris and shorts are okay (as long as they are more formal looking....like the trouser shorts). Also, I think that jeans are acceptable, as long as they are tailored and a dark wash. I like to wear dresses and skirts, but HATE nylons.

I also like classic clothes because they don't go out of style. If I purchase something trendy, I'm pretty likely to keep wearing it after it's out of fashion since *I* still like it. I adore sandals, but flip flops are obviously too casual. I don't really like high heels, since I will be standing much of the day.

What do you recommend I purchase? What stores would you recommend (big city, we probably have any store you recommend)?

Thanks!

A&A's Avatar A&A 01:41 PM 07-16-2007
Let me tell ya' from 12 years of teaching experience: the kids will respect you more if you're dressed up. You will not receive as much respect in jeans. I hate nylons too, but force myself to wear them.
Artisan's Avatar Artisan 01:49 PM 07-16-2007
I live in a warm climate as well (and teach high school). My "uniform" is knee length skirts with nice T-shirts/blouses, bare legs, and dressy sandals. It lets you feel dressed up without killing yourself in the heat.

I shop a lot at J. Jill. They have grown up looking skirts that are still fashionable, and very nice quality. (www.jjill.com) They have great end of season sales, so you could possibly find some good deals in the next month or two.