Mothering Forum banner

Any working mamas pump past 1?

1K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  Moonqueen 
#1 ·
I've seen a few threads about working mamas quitting at the baby's first b-day. (Which I completely understand!)

I am a teacher; I pumped for son until he was 11 months old, and then summer break started! Woohoo! Now he's 1 and in a month I'll have to go back. He absolutely refuses to drink out of a cup, and we haven't used bottles for a month. (It's just been the breast and solid food.)

I really can't decide what to do when I go back. I've LOVED being off the pump! But, I kind of feel like maybe I should pump for him again when I go back to work.

Any advice?

#2 ·
I'm just getting there. DD will be one on Sunday. Unlike your ds, though, she loves sippy cups (we've been practicing with water, but she won't take EBM out of it), so we're hoping she'll drink organic cow or soy milk out of the cup. My plan is to gradually stop pumping in the next month or so. I'll probably go from pumping 2x a day down to once a day for a couple of weeks and then just pump if I feel like I'm going to become engorged (probably won't happen bc my pumping output has gradually been decreasing lately - might be bc I need new valves/membranes, but I'm not going to get new ones this close to her first b-day). Anyway, I plan to continue BF when I'm at home for the time being, but gradually give up pumping in the next month or so. I do know of people who pump past a year and admire them, but I just don't think that's something I want to/will be able to do. I will be reevaluating this next week based on whether dd will take milk from a cup.

#3 ·