My toddler hates daycare *(Update) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 08-31-2007, 01:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a fulltime student and started school a week ago. I only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and my daughter goes to the school's daycare center from 8:30-3:30. She's 23 months old and this is her first daycare experience, and her first experience with napping without me, although for the last year I've been a fulltime student and she's been watched by a nanny, and then a SAHM.
The first day, last Thursday, she was happy when I left. I went to check on her at naptime and she had had a rough time going to sleep- cried herself to sleep(with the daycare provider there though). She was happy to see me when I came to get her later. Her second day, Tuesday, she started to cry when I left, she cried to sleep, and when I arrived to get her she just had a look on her face like she was about to burst into tears. Today, it was pretty much the same thing. She started screaming hysterically when I left, cried herself to sleep again, and when I arrived all the kids were sitting at the table eating a snack, and she was alone by the back door looking like she was about to cry. She didn't brighten up or anything when she saw me.
Everyone keeps telling me that she just needs to get used to daycare and that it's all completely normal, but this just doesn't seem right at all. She's generally very, very easygoing, adaptable, and happy, and her being this unhappy is not like her at all.
I don't really have any options for childcare right now, so my only courses of action right now are to 1) drop out of school, 2) drop the class I have during her naptime so I could go to nurse her to sleep and see if that improves her happiness there, or 3) ask for her to be transferred to another class/teacher. Her teacher is nice but seems a bit strict.