TTC & International Travel for Work? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 07-05-2008, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The great news is that I am working in a job that I love. It is exactly in line with what I got my masters in (organizational development) and is full of challenge and opportunities to grow and learn. Its FT WOH which is new as I haven't been FT WOH since DS was born. But its good overall!

As part of this job, I am managing a high profile employee development program. The program meets 4 times over the course of the year including one international trip. The international trip this year is to Salzburg, Austria - October 4-12ish.

So here's the thing... Our DS turns 4 in like 3 weeks (OMG I can't believe it ). We put off TTC #2 for a long time because I had pretty bad ante-partum and post-partum depression and because I went to grad school when DS was 1-3 and we didn't want to be doing more babies in the midst of grad school, a full time insane job, and raising a wee one.

I'm really beginning to feel like now is the time. I meant to have them closer together but that isn't the way its going to shake out. I think nearly 5 years apart will be fine - many people keep telling me that it worked out well in their families so I'm hoping!

We were thinking of beginning to TTC in August. The thing is, if I get lucky (no pun intended ) and get a BFP quickly, I'll be 1 or 2 months pregnant on this trip. The trip is going to involve a lot of pre-work and then the time there will be jam packed and somewhat stressful. FUN but definitely work and definitely exhausting. (The trip is a huge career move and missing it would not be good at all.)

I wasn't terribly sick with DS. I was bone tired and I had a lot of food aversions but was not ill. I'm not sure what things will be like with #2 since each pregnancy is different.