Daycare and Naps - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 07-12-2008, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Starting next month ds will be going to daycare instead of staying home with dh. An opprotunity has opened up allowing me to send him with no out of pocket cost and now dh will be working days too and I won't be alone at night with the kids DD will be in preschool during my work hours. I'm new to the WOH scene and I just don't know how ds is going to function in this environment. He always nurses down for naps with me or dh wears him down. We do family bed - I've never owned a crib. The daycare has a crib for each child and I'm concerned that ds won't be able to go to sleep and he's very fussy when he wants to sleep. I've never been successful at rocking him to sleep and then putting him down. It has always been lay down and nurse or wear him while he sleeps. Have any of you been through this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 07-13-2008, 12:48 AM

I had a variation of this problem when my DS started daycare at 5 months and then again when he started a new daycare at 9 months.

Licensing here requires that every child under 12 months must have a crib that's just for them. In the first center, most of the babies didn't sleep in the cribs -- they sat their empty and the teachers put the babies in infant seats and rocked and sang to them while they fell asleep. My son had a medical issues and an apnea monitor and needed to sleep flat so that wouldn't work for him, so instead they'd rock him in their arms and then transition him to the crib.