Mothering Forum banner

Are you happy/content with your job?

1K views 26 replies 26 participants last post by  ShwarmaQueen 
#1 ·
Or not...if so why/why not?

#2 ·
I really like my job. I'm a teacher and I teach music one day a week and I sub one more day a week. I'm able to enjoy my job because 1) I have the flexibility to work only two days a week, 2) I have a fabulous babysitter who really adds to my daughter's life and gives her experience I can't, 3) I had a 1 year maternity leave. I love being a teacher, but if I didn't have those three things I could easily start to resent working.

#3 ·
I really like my job...sorta. I'm a research analyst for a social policy reserach organization and it's the place I've wanted to be since I was in grad school. It's a great place with good work and lots of great characteristics - lots to learn, room to grow, defined career paths, good bennies, etc.

The flip side is that I think I just don't like working full time while being a mom. It is too hard. I work fewer hours than all my coworkers and the pressure is pretty strong. I feel like I can't keep up, plus I'm not doing as well on the family side as I would like. I am going to try to get part-time hours after my new baby is born, and that may be ideal for me. But I think it will slow down my career progress dramatically. Which wouldn't bother me, except that I don't know if it would stigmatize me among my coworkers.

#4 ·
I am pretty happy with my job as a lawyer. I like about 80-90% of it most days. The hours are good, the benefits are great, the pay is so-so, and I like almost everyone I work with. As much as I love my son, I just don't think I could stay home with him every day. My job gives me flexibility to be with him but also to flex my brain.

#5 ·