Wedding gift - opinions please! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 05-29-2011, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Our family is invited to 3 weddings in the next 6 months. All for cousins of mine, and we will be attending all three. The thing is, we are beyond broke, and at a bit of a loss for how we will afford gifts. I had an idea, but idk if it's tacky or lame or ?? so tell me what you think. I was thinking we'd bring a nice card to the wedding, and while there I would take lots of pictures, then create a collage on Photoshop, print and frame it, and mail it to the bride and groom as our gift. I am not a professional photographer or graphic artist, but both have been serious hobbies for years, and I have had some family/friends request collages/holiday cards/birth announcements, etc. and I've had compliments on some of my 'work' that is displayed in my home. So, I think it would turn out nicely. I just feel odd about it - is this a good idea, or not? Any other ideas for wedding gifts on a budget? TIA!

Amy, knit.gifwife to Luishola.gif, Mama to Taye (6), Darius (4), & Mya (2.5)  jumpers.gif and friend of Lola dog2.gif
Awaiting our Grand Finale, Haven Xavier in July 2011 ****5****10****15****20****25****heartbeat.gif****35****stork-suprise.gif
#2 of 15 Old 05-29-2011, 06:14 PM

I think it's a lovely idea. I would love to have someone give me a nice photograph of my wedding day as a gift! orngbiggrin.gif

About me: I  caffix.giftreehugger.gifcold.gifknit.gifphotosmile2.gif, and read.gif. Oh, and I'm dizzy.gif with love.gif for DH and DCx3!

#3 of 15 Old 05-29-2011, 06:17 PM