Can you tell me about High Myopia and how it affects your Life? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-24-2007, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I took my dd for her bi-annual opthomology check and the optho adjusted her glasses prescription so now she has a correction of -7.5 & -8 (high myopia).

As I was trying to find out some sort of correlation to visual acuity (the standard 20/40 kind of description) and the lens strength (-8 diopters), I came across a description that stated a lens strength of -5 diopters usually meant that a person could not read an eye chart at all without corrective lenses. This scares me a bit.

I have no experience personally with vision impairment. My eyes have always been good so I've not worried about it. I'd really like to hear about other's stories with high myopia or other visual impairment and how it affects you and your life. Can you get a driver's liscence? Can you see the alarm clock? Is it difficult to see details like where the edge of the steps are or if the cracks in the sidewalk protrude? Has it gotten worse, better or stayed the same over the years? I'd just like to understand what my 21mo old dd "sees" on a daily basis when she's not wearing her glasses.

BTW, if I understand correctly, visual acuity cannot be determined until the child is old enough to describe what they see since two people with the same lens strength may have 2 very different acuities depending on how well they can each compensate for the impairment. Is that right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2007, 06:31 PM

First of all "Myopia" is nearsightedness. I don't know anything about the numbers you mention, but I do know I haven't been able to read an eye chart without glasses since before puberty, decades ago.

Hopefully someone here is an eye doctor and can offer some support! It must be very frustrating with a preverbal child. Mine didn't come on until late elementary school.