Birth Center Design Ideas - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-25-2008, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Need Some Input and Ideas Please
I also posted this in Birth and Beyond. Then I realized I might get more input here
I am a student Interior Designer. I am in my last semester of school and we are designing a free standing birthing center for our main project. I would like for you all to give me some input on what you would like in a birthing center.

My inspiration (not theme - 2 different things) right now is spring. It is a time of birth and growth. Blooming flowers signify the body opening to allow the baby to be born.

I would like input on everything from the lighting, mood, art and decor, things you think should be included in a birthing room or center. Anything you can think of. I had both of my babies in a hospital (however my experience w/ ds2 was different because he was born naturally and I had a midwife - who was wonderful) so I do not have experience in a birth center but I have some ideas on things that would be beneficial to the birthing mother. TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2008, 04:51 PM

Hmm. Could the birthing rooms be upstairs (or have a ranch style) so there could be skylights? And sliding doors to a balcony (or patio) with a view of a garden. It would be nice, while walking during labor, to be able to step out of your birthing room and have a nice view of a garden, and walk out into the garden.
Old 01-25-2008, 05:06 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)