Do you have a degree? In what? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 120 Old 02-27-2008, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've done some college, but got a job and ended up leaving school. I am thinking about getting my associates right now (medical assisting or something like that, I've only given it a day or two of thought), but part of me thinks that an associates isn't worth anything and no one will really care about it. But on the other hand, doing it may help me want to go further and get my bachelors.

I'm curious what you have and what you think about this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 120 Old 02-27-2008, 11:35 PM

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology. In Maine (where we live), I am able to hold a Social Work license with my degree (not able to do this in New Brunswick, where we are from). I wish I had taken nursing. I really like my job but the money sucks.

Kim, proud CPS mom to Marnie and my 4 legged kids, Jess, Zander, Oliver, Stumpy and Eddie.
#3 of 120 Old 02-27-2008, 11:37 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
I have a B.A. in music.

I think for obtaining a job, an A.A or a certificate program of some kind is just as helpful if not more so. I have a friend and a sister both with B.S. degrees, and both of them got jobs based on the one year training program that they got several years after they graduated from college, when they realized their bachelor's wasn't getting them anywhere.
#4 of 120 Old 02-27-2008, 11:40 PM

I have a BA in Broadcast News and Religious Studies
I am now getting a BS in Education
I wish I would have got something sure fire the first time!

Denise, Mama to DS1 (7) and DD1 (5) and new baby due June 2012!

#5 of 120 Old 02-27-2008, 11:40 PM