I have a post office problem. Can you help? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-08-2008, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I recently ordered some stuff, which was shipped through the post office. According to the delivery confirmation, the package was delivered on Wednesday. But, as luck would have it, I never received it. In fact, we got zero pieces of mail on Wednesday. So, I called their 800 number this morning and someone is supposed to call me back Monday. Oh, I should add that we live in an apartment building w. locked mailboxes. The last time I ordered something that was sent through the USP, the mail carrier just left it by the mailboxes. I'm new to this building so I don't know if this is the norm for packages or not. I know that sometimes they leave you a card that you take to the post office to pick up your package, but I did not get one of those either. I'm guessing that it could have been stolen, or our mail could have ended up in another mailbox. All I know is that I'm out $30 and have nothing to show for it.

So, anyone know how this is likely to play out? If the mail carrier left it outside of the mailboxes will h/she be held responsible? I'm thinking I'm probably just out the money, but maybe there's something I'm not thinking of? I want to get the dimensions of the package b/c maybe there's no way it could have fit inside our tiny mailbox and I'll have proof that it wasn't delivered, but maybe this doesn't matter b/c postal carriers are allowed to leave packages? Ugh, this is just annoying.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 03-08-2008, 04:01 PM

Is it possible that they left it at the rental office? Or gave it to a neighbor to hold?

We have a few different postmen, and each seems to do something different with packages. I the one who will carry packages right up to my door.
#3 of 4 Old 03-08-2008, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by katheek77 View Post