Nursing Mommas - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 12-03-2010, 05:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hey, girls! I'm so glad we finally have our own DDC! I thought I would start a thread for those of us who are still breastfeeding another babe. How old is your nursling? When are you due? Do you plan on weaning or do you hope to tandem? What challenges are you facing so far or do you expect in the future? Have you ever breastfed while pregnant or tandem nursed before?

I'm due August 1st, and I'm nursing my 18 month old DD. I'd like to breastfeed her until she is 2 years old so long as that is what she would like to do. That would put me around 6 months along, but I would go beyond that and tandem if she wants as well. I breastfed my oldest until he was 2 1/2 and he decided he was done prior to me conceiving our daughter so I have no experience nursing while pregnant or tandem nursing. I've read/heard that there is typically a milk supply decrease in the 4th or 5th month or a transition to colostrum and many babes decide to wean at that point. Is there and validity to this? My biggest challenge so far is nipple soreness, but I'm breathing through it. Do you girls do anything special diet wise? I'm vegetarian, is there anything I should be considering? I'm looking forward to sharing this experience with you girls! :)

Katie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 21 Old 12-03-2010, 07:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrunchyKatie View Post

Hey, girls! I'm so glad we finally have our own DDC! I thought I would start a thread for those of us who are still breastfeeding another babe. How old is your nursling? When are you due? Do you plan on weaning or do you hope to tandem? What challenges are you facing so far or do you expect in the future? Have you ever breastfed while pregnant or tandem nursed before?