Anyone have (or have had) a REALLY mellow newborn? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 08-12-2011, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Only I would worry about having an easy baby and make it into something when really I should just be thankful...

Anyway, baby boy (still nameless) is a very easy newborn.  I have lots of experience with babies, but not so much newborns so maybe I don't have the best of comparisons, but still... 

He hardly ever cries.  Really.  It's usually one little squawk which lets me know he needs something and then I'm on it.  He can sometimes get mad when he doesn't latch on fast enough, but honestly, that's about it.  He has not once woken up crying.  I do think I'm good at anticipating his needs, but it can't be all that.  I'm not exaggerating when I say he has cried less than 8-10 minutes cumulative since he was born 10 days ago.  I'm not complaining, but I was wondering how unusual this may be.  He sleeps well during the day and night.  He doesn't have any fussy periods.  He has awake times when he is very alert, sometimes for almost 2 hrs.  I usually hold him during that time because I love being with him, but he does not mind being put down and left alone even if I need to go to the bathroom or shower or something.  It's rare that I'm not within feet of him though...but sometimes I just plop him next to me to use the computer or something and he's quite content without being held.