The Hospital Bag - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 04-23-2011, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)

I know we've all still got a whole summer to go, but I'm a total OCD planner/list maker. For those that will be delivering at the hospital, have you started thinking about what to pack in the bag? I'm especially interested in hearing what everyone packs since I've never done this before!

My basic list is -

Pajamas

Robe

Slippers

Clothes to wear home

Toiletries

Makeup kit

Baby's first outfit home

Purse (with wallet, cell phone, book, keys that always live in there)

Cell phone charger

Vitamin Water (I can't seem to get enough of the stuff)

Some kind of snack pack (any suggestions here?)

I know we'll also need to have the carseat with us, and I think I need to pack pads to deal with post-delivery bleeding? Anything else I should be sure to include? 

Apartment Farm - the chronicles of my cooking, gardening, crafting and other such things. 

#2 of 10 Old 04-23-2011, 07:49 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm not in your DDC, but I just saw your post on the community board and I thought that I'd add a few ideas since I've had both a hospital birth and a birth center birth.

1. Type up your packing list and post it on your fridge. Many of the items will need to be packed last minute (cell phone charger, camera and camera battery charger, purse, food items, etc.). We did this and it made it much easier, (and less stressful) for DH, who packed everything up.

2. I would add baby finger nail scissors to the list. (BTW, baby nail scissors work much better than nail clippers. You can find some on amazon.)

3. I liked Recharge, similar to Gatorade, but made with natural ingredients.

4. Snack ideas: protein bars (Odwalla brand is good), trail mix, fruit