quick reference thread for new mamas! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-29-2011, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Before I started staying home with the littles, I was a reference librarian.  So I have an overwhelming urge to help people find information.  And having been through the "new mama" daze a few times I know how hard it can be to get through a day, let alone find info that might make that day easier.  So here are a few helpful resources, all in one spot... please add to the list!

Birth Related:

ICAN- online and in person support group for mamas recovering from cesarean birth.  They also do vbac advocacy and help moms arrange family centered cesareans.

SOLACE for Mothers- online, in person, and "warm line" phone support for all moms who have suffered birth trauma (any type of trauma, physical or emotional, for mom or the babe)

Postpartum Support International- online support for women suffering from or at risk for postpartum mood disorders.

Breastfeeding:

LLL- support for breastfeeding, in person, online, and by phone.  Local leaders are happy to help with any breastfeeding questions/problems and there is a national helpline too at: 1-877-452-5324

kellymom- the most complete site for breastfeeding advice, support, and information anywhere.  seriously I have never had a breastfeeding question that wasn't already covered here!

breastfeeding.com- great all round site, especially for moms who will be working outside the home and pumping.  Lots of printable info sheets, ideas for talking with supervisors about nursing/pumping, btdt humor pages, all that good stuff.

General Health: