Milk supply? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 10-15-2011, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a question as a first time breastfeeder who doesn't know many people who have done it.

Aurora is typically feeding every 2-2 1/2 hours right now.  When she finishes latching to each, I pump because I really want a supply built up due.  I am able to get about an ounce from each breast most of the time.  Is this adequate?  Milk just came in yesterday, I'm a bit clueless.  She is getting plenty, lots of wet and dirty diapers.  We go for a weight check on Monday.  

Social working mommy to babygirl.gif 10/10/11, three cats, and a dog.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 10-15-2011, 10:59 AM

An ounce from each breast after babe nurses seems reasonable to me...but I'm not an expert.  I just remember when we had some latching issues during DS's first week and I was pumping a few times a day that it felt like I wasn't getting much out at first.  Gradually the amount increased, and after week 2 I wasn't pumping anymore, so I don't know how much I would've been able to at that point.  Maybe x-post on the Breastfeeding forum.

Teacher until birth of DS (7-27-08)blowkiss.gifand now DD (10-17-11)femalesling.GIF:, now SAHM, wife to my wonderful hard-working DH.   cd.gifnocirc.gifselectivevax.gif

#3 of 4 Old 10-15-2011, 11:09 AM