Mothering Forum banner

Are you finding out the sex?

2K views 36 replies 21 participants last post by  justamama 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

Sorry if I'm repeating a topic that's already been covered. I'm new to the Mothering threads and just wondering how people decided whether to wait till birth or find out the sex of your baby before birth?

We have been asked so many times what we are doing and I think we have finally decided.....

Cheers

#2 ·
I am going to find out. To me, it's just as much of a surprise to find out in the middle of pregnancy as in the end. The night before my ultrasounds are more exciting than Christmas! It also helps me to bond with the baby and purchase all the gender appropriate gear in advance. It's one bit of technology that I take advantage of. :)

#4 ·
We've always found out with the three girls. Well, this time I did the intelligender test and it said boy! And it was right for DD3, so now I'm not sure I can wait all the way until November to find out! LOL I think finding out would be good to help our kids prepare more. DD3 is really too young to know what is going on (she'll be 20m when baby is born), but DD1 (5) and DD2 (3) already love to hug and kiss my belly (although DD2 insists people say UTERUS instead of belly!) and say hi and good night to the baby.

So basically, I am completely conflicted. We either don't find out, just DH and I find out and tell nobody, or we announce to the world. And I don't know which way I want to go.

#5 ·
We found out with #1 b/c we really, really wanted to know. I knew I was also going to have to get used to the idea of a boy as I had always envisioned a girl. It was a girl and the u/s was the best part of that pregnancy!

With #2 we needed to know if it was a boy b/c dh and I were going to need time to work out the circumcision issue. It was a boy and I'm glad we had that time to discuss and let ideas sink in. We did not circ and dh is very happy with the decision.