Birth plan chaos - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 08-03-2011, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

I am new to the Mothering community, but had been a magazine subscriber since I was pregnant with my first child in 2009. 

I am trying to finalize my plans for a homebirth, but have a few concerns/obstacles that I don't really know how to handle.   First of all, I am due with my second child in early November.  My daughter is 19 months old.  We live in a unique community, because it is an island (like, we literally take a boat to the mainland).  :)  I knew I was seriously interested in having a homebirth this time around since my first childbirth experience was less than ideal.  We have one midwife on island, and although I'm not sure we "click" the way I would like to, she is my only real option.   My comfort came in knowing that I have an amazing doula chosen, who is not only a friend to me, but someone in whom I have 100% confidence and feel at ease with and consider a good friend.  Furthermore, my mother just passed away, and my husband's family (sister, mother) lives in the midwest, and does not plan to be here for the birth, so I don't really have a family support network built in.