Pregnant without insurance, single and - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 11-02-2011, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi, I'm currently pregnant 2 months and i'll be losing my job next week. well in the first place, i'm a freelancer so i don't have medical insurance, never had and make only enough to pay rent and basic living. Now single mother, don't want to lose the baby... i can't apply to medicaid because have to have show 4 pay checks demonstrating that i'm making less than 1800 per month. basically i did more than this month..so in theory i should wait for another month and a half to be able to apply. the money i made it's already going to my rent. and try to move out now from my place and pay all fees and find something affordable in ny is  almost impossible.

if it's any idea, or suggestion i can use, i will really appreciate it. I would like to go to regular prenatal care with low cost and do the regular tests and do prenatal assistance to make sure the baby is ok.

I believe any country should have social securities for mothers without partners and without insurance. It's frustraiting to know I had paid more than 40% of taxes of my work and it's nothing out there  that can help middle class americans and specially womans expecting babies. i had gone to various non profit organizations and centers and no one is capable to give me good answers.  it makes me feel i should write an article and make a movement to help those moms who are in struggle looking for basic social care! personally, i feel it's insane.

best to all!

ana

#2 of 6 Old 11-05-2011, 03:19 PM

Have you considered doing a homebirth? The out of pocket costs would be tremendously less and you'd most likely be able to make a pay schedule. 

creative crunchy christian wife to J stillheart.gif, Mama to three boys and one baby on the way!  chicken3.gif  doula in training love.gif

#3 of 6 Old 11-13-2011, 09:59 AM