(TW) Sensitive Issues regarding adoption - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 04-30-2010, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,

Although I have little experience in the adoption triad, my husband and I have talked about adopting, possibly, in the future. Due to several media issues surrounding adoption recently, the subject has been on the front of my mind and I ran across a few links that really offered COMPLETELY different perspectives on adoption than I'd ever considered, written by Harriet Jacobs at Fugitivus and a guest post at Shakesville. Just thought I'd share. Does this speak at all to anyone's experiences here?

mama to Jack 5/3/09 wife to family of
#2 of 20 Old 05-01-2010, 12:52 AM

Congratulations ! You have discovered one of the many paths to a more nuanced understanding of adoption, and you have done so before you've begun an adoption journey. This is good. Welcome aboard.

You will find that there are other folks here on this board who are very familiar with those perspectives. And the more you search the internet, the more you will read and find. At some point, your head may really start spinning, and though I haven't been particularly active here of late, in the past, I have found this a grounding place to sort through my changing understandings. Though this is a support forum for adoptive parents, and thus fewer voices from other parts of the triad are around, the gentle yet honest atmosphere is particularly conducive to learning. When I look back at old posts of mine, I am amazed at how much I've grown through the years.

I'm pro-adoption reform, but not anti-adoption.
#3 of 20 Old 05-01-2010, 01:10 AM

I only had time to read the first article tonight. It's a good one, and I agree with a lot of what she said. I also appreciate how well thought out it was.