simple question, how much does it cost - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 11-01-2011, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

to do a private adoption via an adgency.  to be matched with an expectant mom that is making an adoption plan?

Aimee + Scott = Theodore Roosevelt (11/05) and 23 months later Charles Abraham (10/07)....praying for a little sister; the search starts May 2014
#2 of 11 Old 11-01-2011, 05:35 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Aimee it depends. If you go thru a nonprofit agency that uses a sliding scale fee based on income, your costs could be quite low (if you have a modest income)...if you use an different agency, you could pay 40K+...i know people who found a mom who didnt need any expenses paid, in an already-born baby situation, they just needed their lawyer to handle every thing and the costs were minimal, under 5K. And everything in between. I think the average is probably $15-30K. (But im no expert on private adoption.)

Katherine, single homeschooling mom to Boy Genius (17) geek.gif  Thing One (6) and Thing Two (6) fencing.gif and one outgoing Girl (12) bikenew.gif and hoping for more through foster care and adoption homebirth.jpgadoptionheart-1.gif 
#3 of 11 Old 11-06-2011, 07:27 PM

Our agency does a sliding fee based on income (not race-which many agencies do and that really bothers me) and ours cost $16,000.  Do your research they vary GREATLY!  Also if our match fell through we won't lose any money as we wait for another match.   There is also an adoption tax credit.

Homeschooling Momma to DD 8 years old, DS 7 years old, DS born 03/11 by adoptionheart-1.gif , waiting for DD born 07/10 and two furry labs. Wife to my wonderful husband of 12 years.
#4 of 11 Old 11-06-2011, 08:01 PM

It really does vary quite a bit depending on several factors. 

Wife to my DH for 10 wonderful years.joy.gif

Mom to L (5 yo DD) and J (infant DS)  adoptionheart-1.gif

Chiropractor to many.  novaxnocirc.gif