Finding the right family... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 01-10-2013, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

This is going to be long, and it may be in the wrong forum - my apologies in advance.  First: an introduction to my situation.  I have two beautiful children (DD is almost 6, DS is 2.5) and am 13 weeks pregnant after being told I had too much endometrial scarring to ever conceive again.  I divorced my children's father two years ago; this baby's father is a close friend.  We are both 100% agreed on adoption being the right choice for us.  I'm a full time student, single mom; I've been homeless on and off for over a year and have no contact with my parents or siblings for support, simply put there is no way that I can parent this child.

I've spoken with two agencies.  The first felt like they were some sort of baby sales agency, it was honestly really disturbing.  The second is nicer, they don't put off a creepy, "let us sell your baby" vibe; however when the father and I met with the social worker today we were very frustrated (okay, *I* was very frustrated) with how many layers of middle men there were between us and the adoptive family, like they really don't want us to get to know them at all.  Another big issues is that, no matter what the parents feel is appropriate, they will be forced to vaccinate the baby.  As a mom that makes me uncomfortable, I want to know who is raising this child, know that they are similar to myself in their parenting style (not going to circ or make baby CIO, that they will at very least research vaccines extensively and parent gently, etc) because, if I'm being entirely honest, I think that a lot of mainstream parenting is wrong.