Inara's beautiful hospital birth - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-07-2011, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Wednesday June 22, 2011 I woke up to the disappointing sound of my alarm clock at 5:30.  I had been hoping for days to wake up and find myself in labor.  At 7am I headed off to work and during the 35 minute commute I had two pressure waves.   I considered turning around and going home, but since I had been having practice waves for most of the last trimester I continued on.  Immediately on arriving to work my supervisor handed me a sheet of paper informing me that I had been randomly selected for a drug test (this also meant I couldn’t leave until after I’d taken the test).  When I went to the test later that morning I wondered how many women in potentially early labor had been subjected to a drug test.  (On the plus side, after many months of pregnancy I was a professional at peeing in cups.)

By noon the waves were occurring about every 10 minutes and I texted my husband and my doula, N., to let them know that things might be starting.  I should probably have gone home at this point, but my group is scheduled to move to a new building while I am on maternity leave and at 1pm we were going on a tour of the new facilities.  I wanted to stay and see if I could scope out any potential pumping locations for my return to work.  I also decided the long walk would be a good test of whether this was the real thing.