Isaac's looong, slow,very gentle birth - Mothering Forums

#1 of 4 Old 09-09-2011, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So I'm new to MDC and haven't posted much.  But I loved reading everyone's birth stories and found lots of inspiration and strength from them when it came time for Isaac's birth 7 months ago.  So I thought I'd share our story:

After a very easy pregnancy where the biggest bother I had was heartburn (apparently that would mean Isaac would have lots of hair) I was wondering if my luck would hold out or if the universe would decide to balance things out with a horrible labor or some other type of bad luck. I was also convinced that the baby would come late, or you know, not at all and I would just be pregnant forever. So Jason and I hadn't done much in the way of preparation and kept meaning to put in the carseat, get a bag packed, clean.

Speaking of cleaning, I actually had a burst of energy on Friday (foreshadowing) after a morning with some mild cramps that seemed to come pretty regularly for a couple hours and then went away to be replaced with painless BH contractions. I washed a rug, cleaned up the house, did all the laundry. I felt great! Then around late afternoon the cramps came back and soon after Jason got home. I let him know I was having some cramps but they didn't mean anything. But we decided to go ahead and cancel our trip to Lori's mountain cabin the following day, just to play it safe since it was three hours away. We also went for a walk because the weather was so nice. But right before we left I went to the bathroom and discovered someone with a mildly bloody nose must have sneezed in my underwear, I hate when that happens. According to the internet this does not necessarily mean anything's happening. But according to people's accounts of labor, they had cramps, snotty underwear, and a baby a few hours later. Hmmm....