The Birth of Katelyn Anjali ***super long*** - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 04-06-2008, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thursday, April 19, 2007

After a month of prodromal labor, I think I started unconsciously preparing for her birth earlier in the week. Sunday I was crying that I wasn't ready for it to be over, that I didn't want to be done being pregnant - but I just could not imagine being pregnant for another week and a half until my due date! That night, I told the baby I just needed a little more time...but if she needed to, she could come whenever she was ready - I would just really appreciate another week or so. Monday night I was up until 1am cleaning up, doing laundry, organizing stuff, etc. Tuesday morning I lost a huge chunk of my mucus plug - which I've never done before, and wasn't really expecting this time because I'd been losing it slowly for weeks already. I spent the day doing all kinds of errands, including food shopping - I wound up getting two weeks worth of food! I did feel like I was getting ready. I had some pretty strong contractions all day, and told Mike that I'd be really pissed if I finally got to have a "real" labor and I spent it running around all day! Wednesday I stayed home in my pajamas all day, baking muffins and grumping around. My sister came over she did Henna on my belly - which was actually the very last thing to cross off on my List of Things To Do Before the Baby is Born. All I was waiting for was a pair of socks I had special ordered, for Dominic and the baby, to come in the mail. (He and I had read "Welcome with Love" the entire time I was pregnant. There is a page where the mom is in labor and the big brother is helping her get the baby's clothes ready; they have a pair of striped socks for the baby that match the big brothers socks. Dominic decided he needed those socks for him and our baby, so a very sweet momma online knitted me a pair of striped