Outrageous article comparing foreskin to a birth defect - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

Old 10-13-2014, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Outrageous article comparing foreskin to a birth defect

I was raised in a reform Jewish household. I'm a single college student, but in the last year or so I have become involved with Intact America. I'll often post articles on Facebook, especially about the "why circumcision is better, cleaner, healthier" myths out there. I'm fairly certain I've persuaded several Jewish moms to leave their newborn sons intact.

Well...today someone sent me this article on chabad.org's q&a section. Absolutely appalling. And the comments on the article are even more so. And just for the record...I don't think I'd be so quick to amputate any one of my future son's extra fingers/toes either!!! Ughhh. I've copied the article below.

Isn't Circumcision Barbaric?

Question:

We had a baby boy, and we are very excited. But we are still undecided about the brit. I have issues with it. I am aware of the spiritual significance of circumcision, but I have much more practical concerns:

Is it not barbaric to put my baby through the pain of a medically unnecessary operation?
He was born uncircumcised. Why should I mess with his natural state?
My son has no say in this, and can never reverse it. Shouldn’t I let him choose later on in life if he wants this done to him?
Do you have any rational answers?

Answer:

Imagine the following scenario. Your baby is born healthy and well. But there’s something unusual. He has six fingers on each hand. An extra little growth protrudes right next to each pinkie.

Can you think of anything more barbaric than chopping someone’s fingers off?