The Nursing While Pregnant Thread... - Mothering Forums
1 2 
January 2012 > The Nursing While Pregnant Thread...
AfricanQueen99's Avatar AfricanQueen99 10:12 AM 06-16-2011

My boy is just shy of 16 months and has really *really* picked up on nursing lately.  He's always loved it, but now asks allll the time.  Anyway, I'm 8w1d and I think I've already drastically reduced my milk output because I almost never hear the swallows anymore.  This is my first time nursing through a non-miscarriage pregnancy, but that seems uber early to me.  My worry is that he'll eventually give up on nursing and not want to tandem when it comes back in.

Anybody else feel a decrease in output?

How's nursing going for you?

bentlaj11's Avatar bentlaj11 12:19 PM 06-16-2011

Mine has gone down alot (I'm 10/4 today). The only reason I can tell though is b/c the first few days where he was too distracted to nurse much (on the weekend and he napped in the car) I barely had any discomfort. Now except at night because he has been a little under the weather, he hasn't really nursed that much. At first I thought it was a flavor issue. There were a couple of times were he nursed and then made a face. But, before his nap he still drinks w/ no problem. I don't really think at night he's actually drinking that much.. just comfort nursing to try to get back to sleep. Long story short... my supply has dropped, but I think alot of it is because he hasn't been nursing as much, and I don't know how much of it is due to pg (flavor and low supply) vs. him just not wanting it as much/being more distracted during the day.

100%mom's Avatar 100%mom 06:11 PM 06-16-2011

I'm still nursing, but my baby is only 9 1/2 months. I can still hear the swallows so I don't know if my supply has gone down any. With my last pg I weaned at 11 wks and with the pg before my baby weaned on it's own at 10 wks. I'm 8 1/2 wks now and hope to nurse for a couple more months at least.

BennyPai's Avatar BennyPai 06:18 PM 06-16-2011