Tearing, squatting, epidural, time to push.... How to make things better - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 10-19-2011, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My first pregnancy I had too much pain, unbelievable. The best thing (at least I thought so) that happened to me was to get an epidural (I can only remember the relieve). So I fell asleep (first time in 30hs) and they woke me up to say I was 10cm already and should start pushing... Now that I think of it, she was not crowning yet (I could not see her at all), but I was 10 cm... I pushed for 45 min. Took an eternity for her head to get out... And finally she came.

I got a 4th degree tearing, and 13 stitches... TWICE, because after stitching once, midwife realized there was something there yet... re-opened, cleaned, re-stitch. Didn't feel stitching (because of epidural), but recovery was tough... And I still have some incontinence. I even gave up my aerobic classes because every time I jump, I pee... Have done kegels but not much results... getting better, but still no impact classes for me...

Now my daughter is 19mo and I am expecting in January.

I have started to wonder how things went "wrong". After reading many many articles, anedoctals, I have a few theories, but no conclusion...

Theory one: epidural made all complicated because I pushed without feeling (at all), probably pushed too early, too soon...or too much at once...

Theory two: we should have waited for her to crown before pushing... And not only start because I had gotten to 10 cms... Most people who had easy deliveries waited until their babies were crowning already. Maybe that would've helped

Theory 3: I should have done squatting vs kegels to help strength or done more kegels...