Lactation Consultants. . . Tell me about your career. . .? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 10-26-2009, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey mamas! I am kind of in a career rut right now and am exploring options. I am a SAHM and have been since the birth of my first so I have had no work experience since I was a teacher pre-birth. I am however a Le Leche League leader and lead meetingS 2X a month. I absolutly LOVE it! Helping mamas in need and creating that circle of support. I really enjoy it! I was reading into this a little and thought perhaps I could make the lead to become board certified and actually get PAID for helping mamas with breast problems. I was only looking to work mayeb 2 days a week 16 hrs total, as I don't really need the money (but a great bonus!) and wouldn't want to leave mt two young children with anyone other than their dad (he is now working a 4 day work week, which would leave me to work two of the three days he has off and save one day for family). I was doing reaserch and from what I read, LC's get paid great money, in MN here they get paid more than RN's! I would actually prefer to work in a hospital where there is more of a need and more flexibilty (as mamas are always having babies!) Sooooooo....

1. How did you go about your training and from where? How did you get the hours you need to train?
2. Ball park range of what you make (feel free to skip this if this is too intrusive)
3. Is this a feesable career with two small needy children (in terms of flexibilty ect.)
4. Where do you work?
5. If you work in the hospital do you like it? Good idea?

Thanx mamas for helping me out with my research and thinking!

Samantha:: love.gif {Waldorf Doll Maker} broc1.gif{Organic Farmer}knit.gif{crafter} computergeek2.gif {blogger}  and crunchy mama to 4 boys under 5! run.gif

#2 of 18 Old 10-27-2009, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter

No LC's here? Should I try the breastfeeding board?