Nursing experience for future Midwifery entry - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-29-2010, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I am a resident of Ontario, Canada and due to various circumstances (financial matters, childcare resource no longer available, eldercare issues) realize I will not be able to apply to the midwifery program here in Toronto again for a bunch of years.

I am trying to figure out what to do next. My spouse is employed at a university where I could study FOR FREE!!! Too bad they don't have a midwifery program!! They do have a nursing program.

I am considering studying nursing and maybe getting into L&D... or working with babies in NICU or something. I hesitate because of my distaste of the medicalization of normal birth. Sometimes I think becoming a public health nurse would be satisfying, working with pregnant and postpartum women and families.

Help. I would love to hear a range of experiences and opinions about how working with pregnant and postpartum women and families, and birthing women scratched your itch. Did working with one group scratch your itch for the other?

Any specific advise from an Ontario Midwifery perspective? I know there is an accelerated path to midwifery for health care professionals. Any btdt advice?

The truth of the matter is, even if I go to school FT for a couple of years for nursing and pay no tuition, we are still a two income family, and will be feeling the loss of my well-paid government job. We will be taking on debt... or something. I wish to make a well-thought out decision due to the sacrifices and expense our family would make.

wash.gif  Me  + bikenew.gif Dh =  broc1.gif  Dd1(9 yrs) + hearts.gif  Dd2(6 yrs) and blowkiss.gif Ds(3.5 yrs)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-29-2010, 06:02 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)