Juggling a day job - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-09-2010, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I have begun my training to become a doula. I’m really lucky that I’ve found a wonderful doula and hynobirthing instructor that has agreed to be my mentor. I would love to hear from any doulas that have juggled a regular day job (I work in an office as an analyst) and being a doula. I would be thrilled to have a couple births a month and I’m pretty sure my boss would be cool with me leaving work if need be. Right now I’m observing 3 separate childbirth classes a week. I’m not worried about the stress just the time and energy. I guess I want to hear yes it’s totally workable or perhaps you really have your work cut out for you. What have your experiences been?

Cloth diapering, Non-Vax, Bedsharing Mama to Maya 3-25-08, Mila 6-28-12 and DP Marc joy.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2010, 01:01 AM

I work as a video editor at a university, and my boss has been really gracious about covering for me when I am on-call (though in 2 years, I have not yet needed him to cover for me). I have two little guys also, so I take one client a month during the school year when I have a regular shoot schedule, and I will take 2 clients a month in the summer or over winter break. That's what I am comfortable doing. Since doula work is the employment that I like better, but it is not my bread and butter and health insurance, I prefer having one client at a time for the most part. It keeps my life in balance. I feel like I don't want to push it and end up screwing something up at my day job and losing my supervisor's support for my doula work.