Doula? How far to space clients? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am still a student and so I am working for free at this point and cannot provide a backup until I begin charging.
Anyway, without a backup, what do you think is a fair spacing between client due dates? I have 2 women right now and one is at risk of preterm labor, even though she has a due date spaced 3 weeks apart her doctor is thinking it will be within a week of my other client.
I have not taken this second client on yet but I need to get back with her soon.
What do you think? Since I am working for free would it be OK to let her know I have somebody close to her due date already booked and leave it up to her to use me or not?

Also, just in general if you don't have a back up how far do you space clients?
#2 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 12:15 PM

this is a really hard one for everyone, I think. I have had clients due six weeks apart birth on the same day, and clients due the same day birth weeks apart. there really is no magic formula.

In 8 years of practicing, I have only missed one birth due to a conflicting labor. I have gone directly from one birth to another quite a number of times.

eta - make sure you cover your refund policy in your contract in case you do miss a birth, or are late to arrive.
#3 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 03:49 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I don't space them out so much as I limit how many clients I take per month. I'll only take on 2-3 women who are due in the same month.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#4 of 10 Old 07-29-2010, 05:30 PM