Advice - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-30-2010, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi Everyone!  I haven't posted in awhile, but I do read and learn a lot from the midwives and doulas (and future midwives) on this board.  I have a couple of questions and was hoping for a bit of advice.

First, just to give you some idea of where I'm coming from: I'm a Labor and Delivery nurse in a major medical center.  I am also a student in a CNM program and will graduate in about a year and a half as a CNM and a WHNP.  As you might have guessed, I spend the majority of my time in very medicalized birth situations.  I still feel like I can make a difference, but there are so many things that frustrate me beyond words--I'm sure you can all imagine. 

I have a soon-to-be 4 year old DD, who was born at the aformentioned major medical center after a long, difficult Pit induction for pre-eclampsia.  She didn't tolerate the Pit too well and ended up with some scary strip issues along the way, ultimately leading to a vacuum delivery with her heart rate in the 60's for a lot longer than I care to think about.  She spent 4 days in the NICU and came home for 3 hours before being taken my ambulance to our Children's Hospital for sepsis (I was GBS positive and had IV antibiotics for 20 hours, yet she still ended up septic).  Other than developing a seizure disorder (which is now well-controlled), she is a happy, healthy, smart little girl.  I feel like I dodged a huge bullet and am so grateful for her.

After all those scary things, my DH and I had pretty much decided we were going to be grateful for our beautiful daughter and stop at one child.  But as time has passed, I am starting to really want another baby.  I'm 38 and DH is 41, so we need to do this soon.