Teaching CBE as a doula? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 05-05-2012, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all! So I'm hoping to register for doula training with CBI this month! I'm so excited! Lots of exclamations! Haha. Anyways, I would also like to teach childbirth education and I was wondering if anyone teaches with just a doula certification. I'm on a budget so I can't afford the cbe training yet. I'm also a registered yoga teacher so I have skills for teaching a group, and the only difference between the CBI doula and CBE training is teaching skills. What do you think? Anyone here teach cbe as a doula?

-mariah
#2 of 6 Old 05-06-2012, 09:54 AM

i'm not a doula but i know several who teach childbirth education classes and i don't think they have taken any sort of certification to teach them. i think it's fine.

Midwifery student , Mama to my 4 amazing kids. treehugger.gif

#3 of 6 Old 05-07-2012, 01:53 AM

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)

No one says you have to be certified with anyone to offer CBE, or even doula services for that matter. :) As a doula, you should have a wide scope of knowledge to share with parents, and creating your own classes might help you realize gaps in your knowledge and help you fill them. I say if it's something you want to offer, go for it! 

, birth-working wife to   (06/2010).
TTC #1 since 2010. Dx PCOS, July 2014. Currently in testing.
, July 2012. Waiting for our  sometime very soon.
#4 of 6 Old 05-07-2012, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter

Thankyou both! I think I'll go for it. I'm just excited about signing up for doula training soon smile.gif
#5 of 6 Old 05-07-2012, 03:19 PM

I'm training to become a birth doula also! (through DONA).